Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela

Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Technical specifications
Thermal baths

Natural Park Serra da Estrela, Portugal

International competition

Non winner

Client

ARK X SITE

Architect

JKLN Architecte

Surface

1200 m² SDP

Submission deadline

October 2015

Description

The proposal aims to develop an interaction and a fusion between the landscape and the baths in order to offer a unique experience, providing powerful architectural elements. The project announces its presence like a monolith. Its geometry and its formal simplicity are in contrast with the topography of the soil on which the building is set. It stands in the landscape as a landmark.

A monolith can be a monument to itself - a statue, a monolithic stone. We find sacred monolithic stones from the Prehistory - menhirs - and in many civilisations, such as the Mayan civilisation - steles - representing sovereigns or the - zoomorphic - originals of Quirigua - and Aztec - the monolith of Coatlicue which represents the goddess of the death, or the decorated monolith of Tizoc representing the fifteen victories of this sovereign.
The first buildings made of monoliths are the dolmens, from the fifth millennium. A monolith can also constitute an architectural element of a building composed of a single element - column or lintel. A reinforced concrete building may be considered a monolith (as opposed to a brick or concrete block wall).Its geometry and its formal simplicity are in contrast with the topography of the soil on which the building is set. It stands in the landscape as a landmark. The project is designated to an existing horizontal ground that rests on the slope. Anchored to the ground, the building tries to minimise its impact in the existing stone landscape. The ground floor rises so that the visitor can enter the building. The thickness of walls affirms the inner/outer limit and envelops the visitor in a cubic volumetry.
By entering, the visitor can feel the mass above him that marks the limits of the large outdoor pool. This pool is surrounded by small regular closed spaces for which intimacy is sought. Breakthroughs on the landscape are put in place to create contrasts between enclosed spaces, such as the sauna, massage areas, rooms and spaces for wandering, walking, relaxing and solarium.The project reveals the landscape through a combination of interior and exterior spaces, sequences, and the evocative and strong character of the site. The building evokes a fractured rock in which water infiltrates and forms natural swimming pools.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela

Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela - © JKLN Architecte
Spécifications techniques
Bains thermaux

Parc naturel de la Serra da Estrela, Portugal

Concours d’idée internationale

Non lauréat

MO

ARK X SITE

Architecte mandataire

JKLN Architecte

Surface

1200 m² SDP

Date de rendu

Octobre 2015

Description

La proposition vise à développer une interaction, une fusion entre le paysage et les bains afin d’offrir une expérience unique, en fournissant des éléments architecturés puissants. Le projet déclare sa présence comme un monolithe. Sa géométrie, sa simplicité formelle sont en contraste avec la topographie du sol sur lequel l’édifice vient s’implanter. Il s’érige dans le paysage comme un point de repère.

Un monolithe peut constituer un monument à lui seul—statue, pierre monolithique. On retrouve des pierres monolithiques sacrées dès la Préhistoire—menhirs—et dans de nombreuses civilisations, comme la civilisation maya—stèles représentant des souverains ou encore les—zoomorphes—originaux de Quirigua—et Aztèque—le monolithe de Coatlicue qui représente la déesse de la mort, ou encore le monolithe décoré de Tizoc représentant les quinze victoires de ce souverain.
Les premiers édifices constitués de monolithes sont les dolmens, à partir du Ve millénaire. Un monolithe peut aussi constituer un élément architectural d’un édifice composé d’un seul élément—colonne, linteau. On considère un édifice en béton armé comme monolithe (par opposition à un mur en briques ou en blocs de béton). Sa géométrie, sa simplicité formelle sont en contraste avec la topographie du sol sur lequel l’édifice vient s’implanter. Il s’érige dans le paysage comme un point de repère. Le projet vient sur un sol horizontal existant qui prend place dans la pente. Ancré dans le sol, le bâtiment tente de minimiser son impact dans le paysage de pierre existante. Le RDC se soulève afin que le visiteur puisse s’immiscer dans l’édifice. L’épaisseur de murs affirme la limite intérieur / extérieur et enveloppe le visiteur dans une volumétrie cubique. En entrant le visiteur peut ressentir la masse au-dessus de lui qui marque les limites du grand bassin extérieur. Ce bassin est entouré de petits espaces réguliers clos pour lesquels une intimité est recherchée. Des percées sur le paysage sont mises en place afin de créer des contrastes entre les espaces clos, tel que le sauna, les espaces de massages, les chambres et les espaces de déambulation, de promenade, de détente, de solarium.
Le projet révèle le paysage par un travail de combinaison entre les espaces intérieurs et extérieurs, les séquences et le caractère évocateur et fort du site. Le bâtiment évoque une roche fracturée dans laquelle l’eau s’infiltre et forme des espaces de baignades naturels.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.