Rue des corons, Faymoreau

Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Technical specifications
20 workshops housing in strips

Rue des Corons, Faymoreau, Vendée

Call for idea

Nominate

Organizers

City of Faymoreau
CAUE Vendée

Architect

JKLN Architecte

Submission deadline

Mars 2012

Description

With a strong presence of mines and specific habitat associated with it, the history of the municipality encourage us to develop a typology of family habitats with already pronounced identity and to find a connection with our time and qualities of use. This raises the question of overbuilding of housing in the rural world.

The project consists of 20 "terraced houses" and multiple public spaces. The creation of the structuring thoroughfare joining onto the existing network allows the expansion of the neighbourhood to come.
The project proposes urban houses in models of small widths, wide opening in the centre including a patio to allow illumination and optimal ventilation with a great expression of volumes and facades.
The buildings are adjoining, but are separated by a line of trees at the height of the building which marks the entrance to each plot and creates an architectural identity. On either side of this fault, the garage at the head of the narrowest building bringing together the kitchen and a complementary intermediate space in its use, making the transition, and along the patio.
This leads to the living room, the centre of the house. The buildings are fairly monolithic and opaque seen from the street but open inside. Only autonomous workshops on the ground level enliven the street. The night spaces are upstairs. These night spaces are internalised, compact and essentially in the volume that rises upward. The traditional brick facade gives the opportunity to use a traditional, neutral material in a municipality with a strong identity.
The North-South cross-section then becomes the generator of the project. The plots are hanging on each side like satellites and recreate an urban front on the new street passing the neighbourhood from East to West whose height adapts to the character of the town of Faymoreau. The alleys connect South from North, penetrate the existing building in the North and make it possible to make a link with the fields to the South of the site.
On either side of the alleys in the centre of the project, there is an alignment of shared public green spaces with a small public square for neighbourhood meetings, communal vegetable gardens, a lagoon pond...

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Rue des corons, Faymoreau

Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Rue des corons, Faymoreau - © JKLN Architecte
Spécifications techniques
20 ateliers-logements familiaux en bandes

Rue des Corons, Faymoreau, Vendée

Concours d’idée

Nominé

Organisateurs

Commune de Faymoreau
CAUE de la Vendée.

Architecte

JKLN Architecte

Date

Mars 2012

Description

Forte de son bâti minier et de l’habitat spécifique associé, l’histoire de la commune invite à développer une typologie d’habitats familiaux à l’identité déjà prononcée et la mettre en correspondance avec notre temps et des qualités d’usage. Se pose ainsi la question de la densification de l’habitat dans le monde rural.

Le projet se compose de 20 «maisons en bandes», et de multiples espaces publics. La création de la rue structurante venant se rattacher au réseau existant permet de donner l’échelle du quartier à venir.
Le projet propose des maisons urbaines selon des modèles de faibles largeurs, largement ouverts au centre incluant un patio pour permettre un éclairement et une ventilation optimale avec une grande expression des volumes et des façades.
Les bâtis sont mitoyens, mais sont chacun heurtés par une faille végétalisée de la hauteur du bâti qui marque l’entrée de chaque parcelle et crée une identité architecturale. On distingue de part et d’autre de cette faille, le garage en tête du bâtiment le plus étroit regroupant la cuisine, et un espace intermédiaire complémentaire dans son usage, faisant la transition, et longeant le patio.
Cette pénétrante permet de rejoindre la pièce de vie, le foyer de la maison. Les bâtis sont assez monolithiques et opaques vus depuis la rue mais s’ouvrent à l’intérieur. Seuls les ateliers autonomes en RDC constituent une animation sur la rue. Les espaces nuits sont à l’étage. Ces espaces nuits sont intériorisés, compacts et essentiellement dans le volume qui s’élève vers le haut. La façade en brique traditionnelle est l’opportunité d’utiliser un matériau traditionnel, neutre, dans une commune à l’identité forte.
La coupe Nord-Sud devient alors génératrice du projet. Les parcelles viennent s’accrocher de chaque côté comme des satellites et recréent un front urbain sur la nouvelle rue fondatrice du quartier allant d’Est en Ouest dont la hauteur s’adapte au caractère de la commune de Faymoreau. Des venelles relient le Sud du Nord, pénètrent dans le bâti existant au Nord et permettent de faire un lien avec les champs au Sud du site.
De part et d’autre des venelles au centre du projet, on retrouve un alignement d’espaces verts publics mutualisés avec une petite place publique permettant les rencontres à l’échelle du quartier, des jardins potagers communautaire, un bassin de lagunage…

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.